Settled Sultans Look to Test Shaheen’s Captaincy Abilities for Qalandars

Settled Sultans Look to Test Shaheen’s Captaincy Abilities for Qalandars

On Saturday, January 29, the reigning champions of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2021, Multan Sultans, will face the PSL 5 finalists, Lahore Qalandars, in the third match of the PSL 2022.

The match will begin at 2:30 p.m. PST at Karachi’s National Stadium.

Match Preview

Multan Sultans will be determined to keep their winning streak going as they take on Lahore Qalandars in a thrilling match at National Stadium Karachi. Multan thrashed Karachi Kings in the PSL 7 opener on Thursday, and they appear to be the team to beat in this year’s competition.

Lahore, on the other hand, would be hoping to rebound from a dismal performance in the previous edition. Lahore will be desperate to upset the current champions now that they have a new skipper in command.

Lahore has one of the most potent bowling assaults in the league, if not the entire franchise T20 league. Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Rashid Khan are all capable of destroying the opposition batting line-up on the spur of the moment and winning the match for their team in a matter of overs.

Multan boasts a well-balanced team, and with Mohammad Rizwan’s superb form and the team’s self-belief, they appear to be on their way to becoming the first team to retain its PSL title.

Multan is unlikely to make any lineup changes from the previous match, whilst Lahore will be seeking to find a winning combination early in the campaign.

Match Details

  • Date Saturday, 29 January 2022
  • Time 02:30 pm PKT
  • Venue National Stadium Karachi
  • Live Stream LINK


Multan Sultans Squad: Mohammad Rizwan, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Sohaib Maqsood, Imran Tahir, Johnson Charles, Shan Masood, Shahnawaz Dahani, Khushdil Shah, Rumman Raees, Asif Afridi, Anwar Ali, Rovman Powell, Imran Khan Sr., Abbas Afridi, Aamer Azmat, Blessing Muzarabani, Ihsanullah, David Willey, Rizwan Hussain, Dominic Drakes

Lahore Qalandars Squad: Shaheen Afridi, Rashid Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hafeez, David Wiese, Abdullah Shafique, Phil Salt, Harry Brook, Zeeshan Ashraf, Sohail Akhtar, Ahmed Daniyal, Kamran Ghulam, Dean Foxcroft, Zaman Khan, Maaz Khan, Samit Patel, Syed Faridoun, M Imran Randhawa, Akif Javed, Ben Dunk, Matty Potts

Possible Playing XIs:

Multan Possible XI – Mohammad Rizwan (c)(wk), Shan Masood, Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Tim David, David Willey, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan Sr., Shahnawaz Dahani, Ihsanullah

Lahore Possible XI – Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hafeez, Ben Dunk (wk), David Wiese, Dean Foxcroft, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Head to Head

In total, the two teams have met nine times in the competition. Sultans have a 5-2 advantage over Lahore, with five wins to Lahore’s four. Multan won by 80 runs in their most recent match, which took place in Abu Dhabi on June 18, 2021.

Also More:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *